Four WorldTour teams confirmed for the 2017 Tour de San Juan

Tour de San Juan

Some of the riders who used to start the season in Argentina with Tour de San Luis have again decided to begin the year in the South American country at the Tour de San Juan, a new 2.1 race. 

Tour de San Luis has been cancelled due to top riders preferring the Tour Down Under, while organsiers have a lack of funds. However, the UCI promoted the Tour de San Juan to 2.1 status, so Argentina will still have an important race in the calendar.

Tour de San Juan will take place from 23 to 29 January and will have 25 teams, including four from the WorldTour: Bahrain Merida, Quick-Step Floors, Trek-Segafredo and TJ Sport.  Vincenzo Nibali will race with the new Bahrain Merida squad for the first time at the South American race.

Contrary to some rumours, Alberto Contador will not ride the Tour de San Juan. The Spaniard will make his Trek-Segafredo debut at Ruta del Sol, in February.

Teams for the Tour de San Juan: Bahrain Merida, Quick-Step Floors, Trek-Segafredo, TJ Sport, Androni – Sidermec, Bardiani – CSF, Caja Rural – RGA, Nippo – Fantini, UnitedHealthcare, Wilier – Selle Italia, Unieuro – Wilier, SEP San Juan, Asociación Civil Agrupación Virgen de Fátima, Municipalidad de Pocito, Asociación Civil Mardan, Municipalidad de Rawson Somos Todos, Esco-Agroplan, Italomat-Dogo, Inder-Medellin, Bolivia te espera, Argentina, Uruguay, Mexico, Brazil, Italy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here