Tivani denies the sprinters to win stage six in San Juan

German Tivani stage six Vuelta San Juan 2019

German Tivani (ACA Virgen de Fatima) became a surprising winner of the six stage at the Vuelta a San Juan when he beat compatriots Daniel Diaz (Asociacon Civil Mardan) and Daniel Zamora (ACA Virgen de Fatima) in a 3-rider sprint.

Tivani escaped with his teammate Daniel Zamora, Dayer Quintana (Neri Sottoli – Selle Italia), and Daniel Diaz (Municipalidad de Pocito) and built up a lead of over five minute.

The WorldTour teams working for heavyweights such as Peter Sagan, Mark Cavendish and Fernando Gaviria looked to have the chase under control, however an unexpected tailwind late in the stage gave the break a glimmer of hope.

The escapees managed to arrive to the finish line 12 seconds ahead of them and Tivani showed to have the better legs for the final metres.


Vuelta a San Juan 2019 – stage 6 results (Autódromo El Villicúm – Autódromo El Villicúm):

1German Tivani (ACA Virgen de Fatima)


2Daniel Diaz (Asociacon Civil Mardan)


3Daniel Zamora (ACA Virgen de Fatima)


4Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates)


6Maximiliano Ariel Richeze (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


7Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)


8Stan Dewulf (Lotto Soudal)


9Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


10Rudy Barbier (Israel Cycling Academy)



Vuelta a San Juan 2019 – general classification after stage 6:

1Winner Anacona (Movistar)


2Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


3Oscar Sevilla (Medellin)


4Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


5Felix Grossschartner (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


7Cesar Nicolas Paredes (Medellin)


8Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


9Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


10Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here