Sagan, Alaphilippe to make 2020 season debut in Argentina

Peter Sagan milano sanremo 2019

Peter Sagan will open the 2020 season with the Vuelta a San Juan in Argentina, a race that has grown in recent years to become South America’s most prominent event.

The organisers announced that Sagan, Julian Alaphilippe, Fernando Gaviria and Remco Evenepoel will all return to Argentina.

According to the organisers, 2020 will see six WorldTour teams in attendance: Bora-hansgrohe, Deceuninck-Quick-Step, UAE Team Emirates, Israel Cycling Academy, Cofidis and Movistar.

Pro-continental teams include Bardiani-CSF, Androni, Neri Sottoli, Rally, Fundacion Orbea, while local Continental teams and four national teams from Argentina, Russia, Italy, and Uruguay complete the peloton.

The seven-day race starts on January 26. The stages will be centralised around San Juan, with a 15km time trial likely to be decisive, along with the mountain finish to Alto Colorado.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here