Team Sky completes Herald Sun Tour domination as Van Baarle ensures overall victory

Team Sky Herald Sun Tour 2019 Dylan van Baarle

Dylan van Baarle claimed the overall victory at Herald Sun Tour on the day Kristoffer Halvorsen took his first win for Team Sky.

The British team set the pace for much of the final stage, keeping the day’s breakaway in check.

The race came back together on the final lap as Sky lined it out for Kristoffer Halvorsen.

Halvorsen was first across the line, just as Sky drew it up. Dion Smith (Mitchelton-Scott) charged through for second while Brenton Jones (Korda Mentha-Australia) took third.

Dylan Van Baarle won the overall after he went on the attack on Saturday’s fourth stage to Arthurs Seat, where he finished second on the stage and took the overall lead.

“The boys did an amazing job today. Actually, all week they rode really well. It was still pretty hard today, and the guys said that they suffered a bit,” said Van Baarle, on a day when temperatures reached 38C. “But we wanted to win the stage as well, and Kristoffer delivered.”

Herald Sun Tour 2019 – final general classification:

1Dylan van Baarle (Team Sky)


2Nicholas Schultz (Mitchelton-Scott)


3Michael Woods (EF Education First)


4Chris Harper (Team Bridgelane)


5Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo)


6Lucas Hamilton (Mitchelton-Scott)


7Kenny Elissonde (Team Sky)


8Pavel Sivakov (Team Sky)


9Dylan Sunderland (Team Bridgelane)


10Damien Howson (Mitchelton-Scott)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here