Lars Boom denies Peter Sagan to win stage 5 of the BinckBank Tour

Lars Boom binckbank tour

Lars Boom (LottoNl-Jumbo) held off world champion Peter Sagan and Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) to win stage 5 at the BinckBank Tour.

The riders faced 18 hills over 167-km, including the famed Cauberg, which was too early in the day to be decisive. The Dutchman launched a strong attack in the last meters to avoid a group sprint.

With overall leader Stefan Kung (BMC) dropped in the last 20km, Boom is now the overall leader of the race.

BinckBank Tour 2017 – stage 5 results (Sittard-Geleen – Sittard-Geleen):

1Lars Boom (LottoNl-Jumbo)


2Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


4Oliver Naesen (AG2R)


5Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


6Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors


7Sep Vanmarcke (Cannondale-Drapac)


8Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


9Danny van Poppel (Team Sky)


10Jasha Sutterlin (Movistar)



General classification after stage 5:

1Lars Boom (LottoNL-Jumbo)


2Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


4Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


5Jasha Sutterlin (Movistar)


6Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


7Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)


8Petr Vakoc (Quick-Step Floors)


9Jens Keukeleire (Orica-Scott)


10Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here