Mohoric takes maiden Grand Tour victory on stage seven of the Vuelta

Matej Mohoric vuelta 2017 stage 7

Going clear early on in a massive break and pushing ahead later on solo, Matej Mohoric (UAE Team Emirates) won stage seven of the Vuelta a Espana on Friday.

On the last climb of the day, there were several attacks in the breakaway which as a result broke into several pieces. Mohoric took the lead close to the top of the climb and was chased by Pawel Poljanski (Bora-hansgrohe), Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) and Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal).

Mohoric could keep the distance with the chasers and crossed the finish line with an advantage of 16 seconds. This is the first Grand Tour victory for the 22-year-old.

Chris Froome (Team Sky) continues to lead overall. He is 11 seconds ahead of Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott) and a further two ahead of Nicolas Roche (BMC Racing Team).

Vuelta a Espana 2017 – stage 7 results (Llíria – Cuenca):

1Matej Mohoric (UAE Team Emirates)


2Pawel Poljanski (Bora-hansgrohe)


3Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


4Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal)


5Alessandro De Marchi (BMC)


6Floris De Tier (LottoNl-Jumbo)


7Jetse Bol (Manzana Postobon)


8Luis Angel Mate (Cofidis)


9Anthony Perez (Cofidis)


10Arnaud Courteille (FDJ)


11Aldemar Reyes (Manzana Postobon)


12Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


13Alexis Gougeard (AG2R)


14Rafael Reis (Caja Rural)


15Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


16Wout Poels (Team Sky)


17Gianni Moscon (Team Sky)


18Chris Froome (Team Sky)


19Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


20Jack Haig (Orica-Scott)



General classification after stage 7:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


3Nicolas Roche (BMC)


4Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


5Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


6David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


7Jetse Bol (Manzana Postobon)


8Fabio Aru (Astana)


9Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


10Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


11Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


12Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


13Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


14Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


15Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


16Jack Haig (Orica-Scott)


17Wout Poels (Team Sky)


18Igor Anton (Dimension Data)


19Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)


20Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here