Mezgec doubles up for stage five victory at the Tour of Poland


Luka Mezgec sprinted to his second stage win of the week with a stunning kick to the line on stage five of the Tour of Poland.

After yesterday’s neutralised stage in memory of Bjorg Lambrecht, the peloton were back racing again and it was Mezgec who timed his sprint to perfection to take a commanding victory in Bielsko-Biala.

It was a fast and attacking start to the day with the first major climbs of the race ahead of the peloton on the 153.8-kilometre stage. Eventually four riders broke clear of the field, but the bunch kept them on a tight leash in the opening kilometres before the pace settled down.

In the final kilometres, the sprint teams were starting to ramp it up behind the breakaway with another sprint on the cards. Grmay and his fellow attackers were eventually caught as they headed onto the final lap as the bunch were strung out through the streets.

Mezgec was hovering around the head of the pack after being brought into position by his teammates and the 30-year-old found himself sat in third wheel under the flamme rouge. The long drag to the line meant that timing was key and Mezgec left it late to open up his sprint, but once he kicked there was no catching him as he took another convincing win.

Tour of Poland 2019 – stage 5 results (Wieliczka – Bielsko-Biała):

1 Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott)


2 Eduard Prades (Movistar)


3 Ben Swift (Team Ineos)


4 Petr Vakoc (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


5 Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale)


6 Rafa Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


7 Enrico Battaglin (Katusha-Alpecin)


8 Marc Sarreau (Groupama-FDJ)


9 Christopher Hamilton (Team Sunweb)


10 Michael Gogl (Trek-Segafredo)



Tour of Poland 2019 – general classification after stage 5:

1 Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe)


2 Luka Mezgec (Mitchelton-Scott)


3 Ben Swift (Team Ineos)


4 Eduard Prades (Movistar)


5 Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida)


6 Quentin Jauregui (AG2R La Mondiale)


7 Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale)


8 Marc Sarreau (Groupama-FDJ)


9 Clement Venturini (AG2R La Mondiale)


10 Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here