Froome reclaims yellow jersey as Matthews takes stage 14 victory at the Tour

Michael Matthews

Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) won the 14th stage of the Tour de France, a 181.5-km ride from Blagnac to Rodez.

Matthews burst clear of Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) on the steep finish to claim honours on the day. Froome crossed the line just behind in seventh place while Fabio Aru struggled up the hill and lost his yellow jersey.

The Briton now leads the general classification by 19 seconds from the Italian, with Romain Bardet (AG2R) third, 23 seconds back.

Froome had lost the jersey to Aru in the opening Pyrenean stage, but normal service resumed on Saturday when he was the first of the overall favourites over the line.

“I just did not have the legs on that day, but I’d like to think that I’ve bounced back after two consecutive really hard days,” said Froome.

“This is all thanks to my team mates today. In the finale they were fantastic. Amazing, amazing job. It’s an amazing feeling.

Tour de France 2017 – stage 14 results (Blagnac – Rodez):

1Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


2Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


3Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


4Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)


5Jay McCarthy (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Merida)


7Chris Froome (Team Sky)


8Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


9Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


10Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


11Romain Bardet (AG2R)


12Zdenek Stybar (Quick-Step Floors)


13Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


14Jan Bakelants (AG2R)


15Paul Martens (LottoNl-Jumbo)


16Davide Cimolai (FDJ)


17Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis)


18Simon Clarke (Cannondale-Drapac)


19Marco Marcato (UAE Team Emirates)


20Mikel Landa (Team Sky)



General classification after stage 14:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Fabio Aru (Astana)


3Romain Bardet (AG2R)


4Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


5Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


6Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


7Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


8Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


9Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


10Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


11George Bennett (LottoNl-Jumbo)


12Pierre Latour (AG2R)


13Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


14Damiano Caruso (BMC)


15Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


16Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R)


17Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


18Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


19Guillaume Martin (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


20Brice Feillu (Fortuneo-Oscaro)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here