Boasson Hagen wins stage 19 at the Tour with breakaway masterclass

Edvald Boasson Hagen stage 19 tour de france 2017

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data) won stage 19 of the Tour de France, holding off a chasing group to secure his third victory at the Tour.

The breakaway of 20 had whittled down to only 8 when Boasson Hagen made a late solo effort with only 2.7m to go. He brought Nikias Arndt (Team Sunweb) with him, but the Norwegian dropped him in the final 2km for a decisive run in to the finish.

While there was some excitement at the finish, there was precious little going on behind a day-long 20-man escape group with Froome’s Team Sky colleagues forming a white wedge at the front of the peloton to keep their leader out of trouble.

Froome had emerged from two grueling days in the Alps with a 23-second lead overRomain Bardet and suffered no mishaps on the Tour’s longest stage — the fight apparently gone out of his rivals for the yellow jersey.

Sky’s white train followed sport director Nicolas Portal’s instructions to allow the breakaway to stay clear and so avoid what could have been a risky massed bunch finish.

Barring a crash in Saturday’s time trial in Marseille, where Froome will be a favorite, the 32-year-old will claim a hat-trick of Tour de France titles and a fourth overall.

Michael Matthews virtually wrapped up the green points jersey and just needs to finish safely in Paris to become the third Australian to win the category.

Tour de France 2017 – stage 19 results (Embrun – Salon-de-Provence):

1Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


2Nikias Arndt (Team Sunweb)


3Jens Keukeleire (Orica-Scott)


4Daniele Bennati (Movistar)


5Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal)


6Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie)


7Elie Gesbert (Fortuneo – Oscaro)


8Jan Bakelants (AG2R)


9Michael Albasini (Orica-Scott)


10Pierre Luc Perichon (Fortuneo – Oscaro)


11Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie)


12Ben Swift (UAE Team Emirates)


13Gianluca Brambilla (Quick-Step Floors)


14Julien Simon (Cofidis)


15Romain Hardy (Fortuneo – Oscaro)


16Rudy Molard (FDJ)


17Robert Kiserlovski (Katusha-Alpecin)


18Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


19Romain Sicard (Direct Energie)


20Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)



General classification after stage 19:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Romain Bardet (AG2R)


3Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


4Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


5Fabio Aru (Astana)


6Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


7Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


8Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


9Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


10Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


11Damiano Caruso (BMC)


12Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


13Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


14Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R)


15Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


16Brice Feillu (Fortuneo-Oscaro)


17Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


18Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


19Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data)


20Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here