Home News Unstoppable Van Avermaet edges Keukeleire to win Gent-Wevelgem

Unstoppable Van Avermaet edges Keukeleire to win Gent-Wevelgem

Greg Van Avermaet

Greg Van Avermaet becomes the second rider in history to win Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, E3 Harelbeke and Gent-Wevelgem in the same season.

The BMC rider crossed the finish line today in Gent-Wevelgem ahead of Jens Keukeleire (Orica-Scott). Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) completed the podium.

This win sets up Van Avermaet as clear favourite for next weekend’s Tour of Flanders, where he has already finished second in 2014 and third a year later.

It was on the final ascent of the Kemmelberg when Van Avermaet made his move and a group of 14 riders went clear of the peloton. Approaching 20km to go, Keukeleire attacked and Van Avermaet, Nikki Terpstra (Quickstep-Floors), Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Soren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb) joined.

15km before the line it was just Van Avermaet and Keukeleire left at the front. The duo put in a brilliant effort to stay clear and eventually, it was Van Avermaet who took the win on the line as the peloton came storming home just six seconds behind the duo.

“I was not expecting to win Gent-Wevelgem, but I’m really happy. It’s definitely the best start of the season that I’ve ever had. I’ve won three Classics already so it’s an amazing feeling. It’s never easy to win these races and normally Gent-Wevelgem isn’t so much of a race for me. I tried so many times to win here and now I’ve won three all in one season. It’s a wonderful feeling and it gives me extra confidence for Ronde van Vlaanderen”, said Van Avermaet.

Gent-Wevelgem 2017 results:

1Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) 5:39:05
2Jens Keukeleire (Orica-Scott) ,,
3Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) +06”
4Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors) ,,
5John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) ,,
6Tom Boonen (Quick-Step Floors) ,,
7Jens Debusschere (Lotto Soudal) ,,
8Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) ,,
9Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors) ,,
10Sacha Modolo (UAE Team Emirates) ,,