Tour of Poland: Haig solos to victory on stage 6 as Sagan cracks

Jack Haig

Jack Haig (Orica-Scott) held off the favourites group on stage six at the Tour of Poland to take his first ever WorldTour victory.

Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) couldn’t keep up on the climbs which allowed BMC’s Dylan Teuns to take the overall lead.

Haig attacked from a reduced front group inside the final 20kilometres and opened up a 50second advantage to claim his first professional victory and the second stage victory.

“I’m super happy to get the win today after trying on stage three and coming relatively close, so to be able to try again and have good enough legs to stay away and pull of the win this time was quite special,” Haig explained. “I think to do it on a stage that was so hard and with so many good guys preparing for the Vuelta, it made it even more special.”

Behind Haig, a stinging attack from Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain – Merida) with 9.5km to go saw the chasing group split with riders spread out across the road, however the group was able to come back together on the descent to the final 2.5km rise towards the line.

Teuns led the chasing group into the final 500 meters of the day before a sprint for the remaining bonus seconds on offer saw him finish with all of his General Classification rivals and move into the leader’s jersey heading into tomorrow’s final stage.

Tour of Poland 2017 – stage 6 results (Wieliczka – Zakopane):

1 Jack Haig (Orica-Scott)


2 Wout Poels (Team Sky)


3 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


4 Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)


5 Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


6 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


7 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


8 Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


9 Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


10 Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)



General classification after stage 6:

1 Dylan Teuns (BMC) 23:41:27
2 Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


3 Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


4 Wout Poels (Team Sky)


5 Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


6 Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


7 Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


8 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


9 Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)


10 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here