Tejay Van Garderen takes maiden Grand Tour victory on stage 18 of Giro d’Italia

Tejay Van Garderen giro 2017 stage 18

Tejay van Garderen (BMC) finally took his first Grand Tour stage edging out Mikel Landa (Team Sky) in a two-way sprint on the streets of Ortisei.

Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) took another crucial step to overall victory with an impressive ride, clocking the same time as Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida) to ensure he maintained control of the maglia rosa.

The Dolomite climbs looked tailor-made for Quintana but, try as he could, he failed to make any of his attacks stick and Dumoulin even threatened to extend his lead when he poured on the power on the final ascent.

Vincenzo Nibali also tried to break Dumoulin but he never looked threatened.

The Dutchman and Quintana crossed the line in the same time and with two days of climbing left Dumoulin, leading by 31 seconds, now looks favorite to win the Giro.

A confident-looking Dumoulin cheekily asked Quintana “why you don’t ride?” as they got off their bikes at the finish area – having expected a much stronger attack from his main rival over the day’s five categorized climbs.

Nibali is one minute 12 seconds behind while Thibaut Pinot of France is still in contention after moving into fourth overall, one minute and 36 seconds back.

Giro d’Italia 2017 – stage 18 results (Moena – Ortisei/St. Urlich):

1Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


2Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


3Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


4Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


5Jan Hirt (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


6Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


7Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


8Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


9Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


10Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


11Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


12Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


13Sébastien Reichenbach (FDJ)


14Dario Cataldo (Astana)


15Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


16Winner Anacona (Movistar)


17Joe Dombrowski (Cannondale-Drapac)


18Hubert Dupont (AG2R)


19Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


20Andrey Amador (Movistar)



General classification after stage 18:

1Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


2Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


3Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


4Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


5Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


6Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


7Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


8Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


9Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


10Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


11Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


12Maxime Monfort (Lotto Soudal)


13Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


14Dario Cataldo (Astana)


15Andrey Amador (Movistar)


16Jan Hirt (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


17Sébastien Reichenbach (FDJ)


18Hubert Dupont (AG2R)


19Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


20Franco Pellizotti (Bahrain Merida)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here