Rohan Dennis smashes rivals to take Australian Time Trial Championships

Rohan Dennis

Rohan Dennis (BMC) has stamped his authority on the Australian National Time Trial Championships with an impressive ride that saw the South Australian smash the 40.9km course and take his third consecutive win by 1:08.

Dennis lined up as the outright favorite and was joined on the podium by Luke Durbridge (Mitchelton-Scott) and Richie Porte (BMC), who claimed the bronze medal in his first time trial since the 2017 Tour de France.

Dennis set the best time at every check point and eventually caught runner up Luke Durbridge before going on to almost catch Miles Scotson (BMC), who started two minutes ahead.

Dennis averaged 47.9km/hour, having covered the 40.9km out and back course in a blistering 51:14.

“I’m pretty happy. It was obviously a different run in this year with regards to training. I’ve been in Europe a lot longer and the main concern for me was the heat and how I was going to cope today. So, I’m glad I handled it quite well and came home with the win”, said Dennis.


1 Rohan Dennis (BMC)


2 Luke Durbridge (Mitchelton-Scott)


3 Richie Porte (BMC)


4 Miles Scotson (BMC)


5 Nathan Haas (Katusha-Alpecin)


6 Sean Lake (Bennelong SwissWellness)


7 Michael Freiberg (Bennelong SwissWellness)


8 Peter Milostic


9 Jesse Coyle (mobius BridgeLane)


10 Ben O’Connor (Dimension Data)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here