Wellens continues winning streak in Andalucia with time trial victory

Tim Wellens wins stage 3 Vuelta Andalucia 2019

Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) defended his overall lead at the Ruta del Sol, after winning stage 3’s individual time trial ahead of Astana’s Jakob Fuglsang and Ion Izagirre.

The Belgian stopped the clock at 22 minutes and 25 seconds, being two seconds faster than Fuglsang and nine seconds than Izagirre. Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma) and Mitchelton-Scott’s Adam Yates completed the top five of the day.

“This is my first time trial win as a pro and also my second victory in three days,” Wellens said. “Of course I am really happy with my shape and the results.”

“The start was tough, then there was a descent and the end went uphill again,” Wellens said. “We made a plan to go for the victory here, but to put that into practice is another thing. It turned out perfectly though. It is fantastic to be rewarded for all the hard training work I did.”

The fourth stage of the Vuelta a Andalucia will be held between Armilla and Granada over a route that features two first category climbs and two of the third category.

Vuelta a Andalucia 2019 – stage 3 results (Mancha Real – La Guardia de Jaén ITT):

1Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


2Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


3Ion Izagirre Insausti (Astana)


4Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma)


5Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


6Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


7Pello Bilbao (Astana)


8Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


9Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida)


10Aleksandr Vlasov (Gazprom–Rusvelo)


Vuelta a Andalucia 2019 – general classification after stage 3:

1Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


2Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


3Ion Izagirre (Astana)


4Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma)


5Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


6Pello Bilbao (Astana)


7Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida)


8Aleksandr Vlasov (Gazprom–Rusvelo)


9Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


10Oscar Rodriguez (Euskadi-Murias)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here