Küng wins stage three time trial in Algarve, Pogacar extends lead

Stefan Kung wins stage 3 Volta ao Algarve 2019

Stefan Küng took his first victory for new team Groupama-FDJ in Volta ao Algarve’s stage 3 time trial, finishing two seconds ahead of Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb) and five seconds ahead of Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck – Quick-Step).

“I am very proud to wear this great jersey, very happy with my new team and to celebrate this victory with them,” said Kung.

Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) was the last man to go down the ramp and he successfully defended his jersey and completed the course only 17 seconds slower than Küng, setting the fifth best time of the day.

He is 31 seconds ahead of Enric Mas (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) in the general classification. Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb) is third, 36 seconds behind in the overall.

“I wasn’t expecting it, but I’m very happy,” said Pogacar. “The result is a reward for the careful preparation that went into this time trial, from studying the route and the specific directions from my sports directors over the radio. I gave it 100 percent, I made the best use of my energy and obtained this nice result.”

Volta ao Algarve 2019 – stage 3 results (Lagoa – Lagoa ITT):

1Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ)


2Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


3Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


4Ryan Mullen (Trek-Segafredo)


5Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


6Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


7Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo)


8Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Sky)


9Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin)


10Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


Volta ao Algarve 2019 – general classification after stage 3:

1Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


2Enric Mas (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


3Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


4Wout Poels (Team Sky)


5David de la Cruz (Team Sky)


6Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


7Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


8Neilson Powless (Jumbo-Visma)


9Marc Hirschi (Team Sunweb)


10Amaro Antunes (CCC)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here