Viviani sprints to photo finish win in stage five of UAE Tour

Elia Viviani wins stage 5 UAE Tour 2019

Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) secured victory on the fifth stage as Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) maintained his overall lead at the UAE Tour.

The Italian champion timed his sprint for the line to perfection as he emerged victorious in a tight finish to what had been a relatively uneventful 181 kilometres route from Sharjah to Khor Fakkan.

Deceuninck-Quick-Step gave him the ideal train from which to launch a victory push with around two kilometres to go and he crossed the line ahead of Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) and Marcel Kittel (Katusha-Alpecin).

“I think with the best sprinters in the world, the hardest thing is to wait. I don’t know who finished second and third but it was a chaotic finish,” Viviani said.

“For sure I’m really proud of myself and my team because it’s never easy after a successful season like last year and you see Fernando [Gaviria] is no longer our teammate. My lead-out train worked really well and we were thinking about our tactics in the last few days because after the first stage, we wanted to win. As always, the team did a fantastic job, thanks to my teammates.”

Friday’s stage 6 will determine the winner of the seven-day race as the 180km route from Ajman to Jebel Jais will culminate with a 20.7km climb.

You can rewatch Stage 5 from UAE Tour HERE.

UAE Tour 2019 – stage 5 results (Flag Island – Khor Fakkan):

1Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates)


3Marcel Kittel (Katusha-Alpecin)


4Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Dimension Data)


6Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain-Merida)


7Kristoffer Halvorsen (Team Sky)


8Jakub Mareczko (CCC)


9Cees Bol (Team Sunweb)


10Maximilian Walscheid (Team Sunweb)



UAE Tour 2019 – general classification after stage 5:

1Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


2Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


3David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ)


4Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


6Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


7Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


8Victor De La Parte (CCC)


9James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


10Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here