Uran scoops stage 5 of the Colombia Oro y Paz as Quintana nabs race lead

Rigoberto Uran

Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First-Drapac) has won the fifth stage of Colombia Oro y Paz out-pacing Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and the Team Sky duo Egan Bernal – Sergio Henao.

Uran was the fastest out of the select five-rider group that formed after Quintana put in a blistering attacked inside the final kilometer of the three-kilometer climb to the finish. The Team Sky duo of Egan Bernal and Sergio Henao, as well as Uran, were the only ones able to follow Quintana. Positioning was key in the final few hundred meters of stage five, as the finish line was located inside the city-center of Salento and the streets were very narrow.

“The team did a great job today from the beginning of the race,” said Uran. “We knew that I could do a good finish. Dani was strong on the last climb, but all the guys did important work that helped me take a very nice stage win.

“Winning in Colombia gives me great joy,” Uran added. “I have not done a proper race here in 11 years. To see so many people at the starts and the finishes fills me with deep appreciation for the fans and the sport.”


Colombia Oro y Paz 2018 – stage 5 results (Pereira – Salento):

1 Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First-Drapac)


2 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


3 Egan Bernal (Team Sky)


4 Sergio Henao (Team Sky)


5 Ivan Sosa (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia)


6 Daniel Martinez (EF Education First-Drapac)


7 Jhonatan Narvaez (Quick-Step Floors)


8  Oscar Sevilla (Medellin-Inder)


9 Aristobulo Cala (Bicicletas Strongman Colombia Coldeportes)


10  Richard Carapaz (Movistar)



General classification after stage 5:

1 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


2 Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First-Drapac)


3 Sergio Henao (Team Sky)


4 Egan Bernal (Team Sky)


5 Ivan Sosa (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia)


6 Daniel Martinez (EF Education First-Drapac)


7 Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors)


8 Jhonatan Narvaez (Quick-Step Floors)


9 Aristobulo Cala (Bicicletas Strongman Colombia Coldeportes)


10 Danny Osorio (Orgullo Paisa)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here