Home News Luis Leon Sanchez wins 2018 Vuelta a Murcia

Luis Leon Sanchez wins 2018 Vuelta a Murcia

Luis Leon Sanchez

Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana) claimed the victory at the 2018 Vuelta a Murcia, crossing the finish line ahead of Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), his companion at the front throughout the last kilometres.

The two local riders, joined by Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), reached down a four-man lead group stemming from a monster break (40 riders) jumping away from the field in the beginning of the race.

The trio bridged back to Jungels, Serry, Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) and Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott), and after the descent of the Collado Bermejo, Valverde and Sánchez left the others behind with a duo attack which only Gilbert attempted to bring down.

As winds picked up in the final descent towards the finish, Sánchez anticipated Valverde’s strong sprint with a well-timed attack with 2km from the finish.

Vuelta a Murcia 2018 results:

1Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


2Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


3Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)


4Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)


5Pieter Serry (Quick-Step Floors)


6Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


7Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


8Willie Smit (Katusha-Alpecin)


9Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


10Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)