Sagan takes third win at Tour as Thomas keeps lead on stage 13

Peter Sagan wins stage 13 tour de france 2018

Peter Sagan won his third stage of this Tour de France, while Geraint Thomas kept the overall lead over teammate Chris Froome on Friday.

Sagan won a sprint finish to claim Stage 13, a 169.5-kilometer leg from Bourg d’Oisans to Valence in less than four hours.

“This stage was a piece of gold for us,” Sagan said, comparing Friday’s relatively flat to the three previous days in the Alps, which saw several of the event’s top sprinters miss the time cut.

“It’s fantastic. I mean also with the flat stage and a flat stage everyone recovered a little bit in the group. I think everyone was happy that it was a relaxed stage. I’m very happy to have won today. It was very nice for me, and thanks to all my teammates, who did a very good job.”

After overzealous fans marred Thomas’ win on Thursday atop the Alpe d’Huez peak, the otherwise complete calm of Friday’s leg was briefly disturbed by a man on the roadside who tossed a smoke bomb into the center of the peloton as it passed by with 16 kilometers left.

Besides spitting out yellow smoke, the bomb appeared to do no harm.

Thomas had no trouble maintaining his advantage of 1 minute, 39 second over defending champion Froome on the flat ride that came after three grueling days in the Alps.

Tour de France 2018 – stage 13 results (Bourg d’Oisans – Valence):

1Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates)


3Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


4John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo)


5Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


6Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors)


7Magnus Cort (Astana)


8Andrea Pasqualon (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)


9Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida)


10Taylor Phinney (EF Education First-Drapac)


11Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (Dimension Data)


12Dion Smith (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


13Jacopo Guarnieri (Groupama-FDJ)


14Timothy Dupont (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


15Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale)


16Nikias Arndt (Team Sunweb)


17Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


18Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Soudal)


19Christophe Laporte (Cofidis)


20Michael Hepburn (Mitchelton – Scott)



General classification after stage 13:

1Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


2Chris Froome (Team Sky)


3Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


4Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo)


5Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale)


6Mikel Landa (Movistar)


7Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo)


8Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


9Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


10Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


11Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


12Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


13Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


14Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton – Scott)


15Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale)


16Guillaume Martin (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)


17Tanel Kangert (Astana)


18Egan Bernal (Team Sky)


19Warren Barguil (Fortuneo – Samsic)


20Rafal Majka (Bora – hansgrohe)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here