Sagan takes overall Tour de Suisse lead with stage three win


Peter Sagan took the overall lead of the Tour de Suisse by powering to victory at the end of stage three on Monday.

The 29-year-old Slovak’s show of force over the final 300 metres continues his superb run of results in Switzerland, where he has a record 17 stage wins, and at least one every year since 2011.

He took the yellow jersey 10 seconds ahead of previous leader Kasper Asgreen who failed to make the top ten in the run over rolling terrain to the medieval town of Murten.

Last year’s Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas remains in eighth place in the general leaderboard but trails Sagan by 28 seconds.

“It was a very fast run-in and a frantic final kilometre because everyone wanted to be in front for the final bend,” Sagan said. “When it came, I was in the first places and was able to go on and win it,”

The breakaway’s biggest lead of three minutes over the peloton came with 130 kilometres to go and was cut down to 15 seconds with 10km left.

It was caught with 6km to go by a mass group of riders which included Sagan.

Trek-Segafredo’s John Degenkolb pushed ahead with 300m remaining but was overtaken by Sagan. Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) finished in second place.

Tuesday’s fourth stage heads 163.9km south from Murten along Lake Biel and over two short but sharp mountain ascents before a daredevil descent to the village of Arlesheim.

Tour de Suisse 2019 – stage 3 results (Flamatt – Murten):

1 Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


2 Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


3 John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo)


4 Ivan Garcia (Bahrain-Merida)


5 Ben Swift (Team Ineos)


6 Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


7 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Dimension Data)


8 Fabian Lienhard (Switzerland)


9 Thomas Boudat (Direct Energie)


10 Daniel Hoelgaard (Groupama-FDJ)



Tour de Suisse 2019 – general classification after stage 3:

1 Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


2 Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


3 Rohan Dennis (Bahrain-Merida)


4 Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


5 Lawson Craddock (EF Education First)


6 Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ)


7 Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)


8 Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos)


9 Jonathan Castroviejo (Team Ineos)


10 Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here