Pierre Rolland seals fairy tale stage 17 win, Dumoulin holds pink

Pierre Rolland giro 2017 stage 17

Pierre Rolland (Cannondale-Drapac) claimed a much awaited victory on a thrilling finale of the stage 17 at the Giro d’Italia. 

Rolland broke away with Matej Mohoric (UAE Team Emirates) and Pavel Brutt (Gazprom-RusVelo) at the start of the day and spent virtually the entire stage at the front, eventually being joined by a leading group of 25, none of whom were in GC contention.

Several riders tried to attack, including Rui Costa and Tejay van Garderen, but they could not make it stick. Rolland then seized his chance and finished 23 seconds ahead of Costa for his first Giro stage victory.

Victory means he is the only active French rider to have won stages on both the Tour de France and Giro.

“I’m so happy, I’ve waited for this moment for a long time,” Rolland said at the finish. “It’s never easy to manage a big (breakaway) group like today, it’s like a lottery.”

Giro d’Italia 2017 – stage 17 results (Tirano – Canazei):

1Pierre Rolland (Cannondale-Drapac)


2Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)


3Gorka Izagirre (Movistar)


4Rory Sutherland (Movistar)


5Matteo Busato (Wilier Triestina)


6Dries Devenyns (Quick-Step Floors)


7Felix Gro§schartner (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


8Omar Fraile (Dimension Data)


9Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


10Julien Bernard (Trek-Segafredo)


11Julen Amezqueta (Wilier Triestina)


12Maxime Monfort (Lotto Soudal)


13Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


14Laurens De Plus (Quick-Step Floors)


15Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


16Jacques Janse van Rensburg (Dimension Data)


17Enrico Barbin (Bardiani CSF)


18Jan Barta (Bora-hansgrohe)


19Daniel Teklehaimanot (Dimension Data)


20Branislau Samoilau (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)



General classification after stage 17:

1Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


2Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


3Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


4Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


5Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


6Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


7Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


8Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


9Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


10Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


11Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


12Maxime Monfort (Lotto Soudal)


13Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


14Andrey Amador (Movistar)


15Dario Cataldo (Astana)


16Jan Hirt (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


17Sébastien Reichenbach (FDJ)


18Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


19Hubert Dupont (AG2R)


20Simone Petilli (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here