Philippe Gilbert beats Nils Politt to win 2019 Paris-Roubaix

Philippe Gilbert wins Paris-Roubaix 2019

Philippe Gilbert won Paris-Roubaix on Sunday after a cat-and-mouse final struggle with Nils Politt while another Belgian Yves Lampaert was third.

Six riders, including defending champion Peter Sagan, broke away with around 55km remaining but the Deceuninck-Quick-Step pair Gilbert and Lampaert worked together to drop the Slovak on the final cobbled section.

The victory gives former world champion Gilbert his fourth of five of the ‘Monuments’, after he won the Tour of Flanders, Tour of Lombardy and Liege-Bastogne-Liege, just the Milan-San Remo missing from his prize list.

“Its really special. It was a really daring attack and it came off,” said the 36-year-old who also led an earlier breakaway and was the architect of Sagan’s downfall.

Gilbert said he was proud of reinventing his style to carve out a successful late career.

“When I decided to go for the classics they said the cobbles weren’t for me. I was just a puncher, but now I’m more complete.

The race was marked by relatively few crashes, although Tiesj Benoot went to hospital after crashing through the back windscreen of the Jumbo-Visma team car that had braked suddenly to miss a faller.

Paris-Roubaix 2019 results:

1Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin)


3Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


4Sep Vanmarcke (EF Education First)


5Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Florian Senechal (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


7Mike Teunissen (Jumbo-Visma)


8Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


9Edvaldas Siskevicius (Delko Marseille Provence)


10Sebastian Langeveld (EF Education First)


11Stefan Kung (Groupama-FDJ)


12Greg Van Avermaet (CCC)


13Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)


14Heinrich Haussler (Bahrain-Merida)


15Adrien Petit (Total Direct Energie)


16Marco Haller (Katusha-Alpecin)


17Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


18Anthony Turgis (Total Direct Energie)


19Hugo Hofstetter (Cofidis)


20Bert De Backer (Vital Concept – B&B Hotels)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here