Lampaert and Gilbert make it a 1-2 for Quick-Step in Dwars door Vlaanderen

Yves Lampaert

Quick-Step Floors took one-two at the Dwars door Vlaanderen with Yves Lampaert attacking a four-man breakaway and taking the victory, while his teammate Philippe Gilbert secured second place after winning the three-man sprint behind.

Alexey Lutsenko (Astana) and world champion Luke Durbridge (Orica-Scott) were forced to settle for third and fourth, respectively.

Belgian Champion Philippe Gilbert instigated a move with 78 kilometers to go on Berendries, forcing a selection which saw around 20 riders extricating themselves from the peloton and establishing a 30-second lead. Behind, Cannondale-Drapac, FDJ and Trek-Segafredo led the chase, but their effort was to no avail, as Gilbert and Yves Lampaert, who too was part of the group, worked hard to keep them at bay.

On Eikenberg, Lampaert attacked, and even though he was reeled in over the top of the climb, his action still produced some damage, as the front group was reduced to 12 men. At one point, it looked like the peloton will come back, with the gap dropping to 20 seconds, but the same Quick-Step Floors riders ensured the move will stick, and as a result they tackled the Oude Kwaremont with a 40-second lead.

It was on the steep and brutal Paterberg that Gilbert put the hammer down, taking with him only three riders: Lampaert, Luke Durbridge (Orica-Scott) and Alexey Lutsenko (Astana).

Final climb of the day – Nokereberg – had the Belgian Champion in the spotlight, as he pulled clear over the top of the hill and opened a five-second gap before the others came back on his wheel. Herlegemstraat was the race’s last hurdle, and on the long cobblestone stretch Yves Lampaert struck a move which left Durbridge and Lutsenko speechless. In the blink of an eye, the advantage grew to 30 seconds, and long before the Quick-Step Floors rider went under the flamme rouge it became clear he’ll nab his biggest victory since turning pro.

Dwars door Vlaanderen 2017 results:

1 Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors)


2 Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)


3 Alexey Lutsenko (Astana)


4 Luke Durbridge (Orica-Scott)


5 Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNl-Jumbo)


6 Oliver Naesen (AG2R)


7 Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


8 Dylan Van Baarle (Cannondale-Drapac)


9 Mitch Docker (Orica-Scott)


10 Florian Senechal (Cofidis)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here