Julian Alaphilippe attacks to win stage 2 in San Juan

Julian Alaphilippe wins stage 2 vuelta san juan 2019

Julian Alaphilippe attacked on the short, sharp closing climb of the second stage and held off the closing peloton to take the stage win at the Vuelta a San Juan.

With a bit more than two kilometres to go, Alaphilippe attacked and Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal) followed him, but almost a kilometre later the French rider of left the other two behind.

Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) was one of the riders that increased the pace in the reduced peloton, but it was not enough to catch Alaphilippe.

“I was really looking to win today. This was a good stage for me and all the team did a good job. I was motivated to finish it off and when I attacked I never imagined I’d stay away to the line, but I did. I’m really happy to start my season with a win,” Alaphilippe explained, playing down talk he is now an overall contender.

“There’s the time trial next, but I’m here to start my season and wanted to win a stage. I’ve done that and so now I’ll take the GC day-by-day. There’s no pressure on me to do well in the general classification. Stage 3 is another day. I’ll try to do my best again. If I get a good result, it’s nice, but if I lose time, it’s no stress. We’ll have other opportunities.”

Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) kept the lead in the general classification and Alaphilippe climbed to the second position.


Vuelta a San Juan 2019 – stage 2 results (Chimbas – Peri Lago Punta Negra):

1 Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


2 Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)


3 Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


4 Jens Keukeleire (Lotto Soudal)


5 Daniel Zamora (A.C.A Virgen de Fatima)


6 Carlos Barbero (Movistar)


7 Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


8 Nicolas Tivani (A.C.A Virgen de Fatima)


9 Francesco Gavazzi (Androni Giacattoli-Sidermec)


10 Hideto Nakane (Nippo-Vini Fantini)



Vuelta a San Juan 2019 – general classification after stage 2:

1 Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates)


2 Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


3 Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)


4 Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


5 Miguel Gamero (Peru)


6 Ricardo Escuela (A.C.A Virgen de Fatima)


7 German Tivani (A.C.A Virgen de Fatima)


8 Aleksandr Grigorev (Sporting Tavira)


9 Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


10 Laureano Rosas (Asociacon Civil Mardan)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here