Juan Molano sprints to stage 2 victory at Tour Colombia

Juan Sebastian Molano continued UAE Team Emirates’ impressive start to the season by sprinting to victory on the second stage of the Tour Colombia.

Jonathan Caicedo retained the leader’s yellow jersey he claimed when his EF Pro Cycling squad won Tuesday’s opening team time trial after also finishing in the peloton.

Molano outsprinted compatriot Alvaro Hodeg at the end of the 152km stage from Paipa to Duitama, with Israel’s Itamar Einhorn in third.

“The team did an amazing job, I’m delighted to have redeemed myself and returned to winning ways,” Molano told ESPN.

“There are still several stages to come … I’ll be calmer because I know I’ve already won and I don’t have this pressure any more so I can work better.”

Caicedo maintained his lead in the overall standings ahead of three team-mates on the same time, including Colombian pair Sergio Higuita and Daniel Martinez who are expected to challenge for the final victory.

“I’m going to make the most of this jersey for as long as I can, but at the same time if I can fight to the end, I’ll be there,” said Caicedo, 26.

“The main aim is to win the Tour Colombia with whichever one of us three, it doesn’t matter if it’s Higuita, Martinez or myself.”

Tour Colombia 2020 – stage 2 results (Paipa – Duitama):

1 Juan Sebastian Molano (UAE Team Emirates)


2 Alvaro Hodeg (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


3 Itamar Einhorn (Israel Start-Up Nation)


4 Jhonatan Restrepo (Androni-Sidermec)


5 Edwin Avila (Israel Start-Up Nation)


6 Bryan Gomez (Equipo Continental Supergiros)


7 Colin Joyce (Rally Cycling)


8 Julian David Molano (Colombia-Andina)


9 Marco Benfatto (Bardiani-CSF-Faizane)


10 Felix Baron (Team Illuminate)



Tour Colombia 2020 – general classification after stage 2:

1 Jonathan Caicedo (EF Pro Cycling)


2 Sergio Higuita (EF Pro Cycling)


3 Daniel Martinez (EF Pro Cycling)


4 Tejay Van Garderen (EF Pro Cycling)


5 Lawson Craddock (EF Pro Cycling)


6 Bert Van Lerberghe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


7 Jannik Steimle (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


8 Egan Bernal (Team Ineos)


9 Richard Carapaz (Team Ineos)


10 Jhonatan Narvaez (Team Ineos)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here