EF Pro Cycling smash Tour Colombia opening team time trial


EF Pro Cycling couldn’t have asked for a better start to the Tour Colombia with a dominant performance in the team time trial to secure the win.

EF blistered past Deceuninck-QuickStep by 45 seconds, 46 seconds ahead of Ineos and nearly a minute ahead of Rally. This put Jonathan Caicedo into the lead of the general classification.

Egan Bernal, the 2019 Tour de France champion, is 46 seconds in arrears.

“We’re going to see how we can rethink the race. The truth is we didn’t expect to lose so much time, we’ll have to change our strategy,” said Bernal.

“We made a couple of mistakes… We didn’t expect to lose so much time, it wasn’t a bad time-trial, what Education First did was a very good time-trial.”

Tour Colombia 2020 – stage 1 results (Tunja – Tunja):

1EF Pro Cycling




3Team Ineos


4Rally Cycling




6UAE Team Emirates




8Israel Start-Up Nation




10Colombia Andina


Tour Colombia 2020 – general classification after stage 1:

1Jonathan Caicedo (EF Pro Cycling)


2Sergio Higuita (EF Pro Cycling)


3Daniel Martinez (EF Pro Cycling)


4Tejay Van Garderen (EF Pro Cycling)


5Lawson Craddock (EF Pro Cycling)


6Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


7Bob Jungels (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


8Jannik Steimle (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


9Bert Van Lerberghe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


10Egan Bernal (Team Ineos)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here