Home News Impey wins Tour Down Under as Greipel claims final stage

Impey wins Tour Down Under as Greipel claims final stage

Daryl Impey

Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) surprised even himself when he won the WorldTour season-opening Tour Down Under on the streets of Adelaide on Sunday.

Impey secured the biggest win of his career when he finished safely in the peloton behind stage winner Andre Greipel, who beat Impey’s teammate Caleb Ewan with a lunge to the finish line.

Impey went into Sunday’s final stage on the same time as pre-race favourite Richie Porte but ahead of the Tasmanian on a count back.

All he needed to do to secure the overall win was to finish safely, an outcome that appeared never to be in doubt on the 90-kilometre stage on the Adelaide street circuit.

Impey came into the race as the final lead-out rider for Ewan and was never expected to challenge for general classification.

But his determined ride up Willunga Hill to finish second to Porte in Saturday’s penultimate stage was enough to place him level on time with Porte and ahead on a count back because of his superior finishing positions in the earlier stages.

“Coming into the race I didn’t expect to win it but sometimes the stars line up and everything goes well,” he said.

“I worked really hard in the off-season so I’m happy to get this win.”

Tour Down Under 2018 – stage 6 results (Adelaide – Adelaide):

1Andre Greipel (Lotto Soudal)


2Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott)


3Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Phil Bauhaus (Team Sunweb)


5Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors)


6Steele von Hoff (UniSA-Australia)


7Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)


8Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo)


9Carlos Barbero (Movistar)


10Mads Würtz Schmidt (Katusha-Alpecin)


Final general classification:

1Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott)


2Richie Porte (BMC)


3Tom-Jelte Slagter (Dimension Data)


4Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


5Dries Devenyns (Quick-Step Floors)


6Egan Bernal (Team Sky)


7Gorka Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida)


8Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


9Ruben Guerreiro (Trek-Segafredo)


10Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo)