Gonzalo Serrano attacks to win second stage in Andalucia

Gonzalo Serrano (Caja Rural) broke away on the final climb to win the second stage of the Vuelta a Andalucia on Thursday while Jakob Fuglsang retained the overall lead.

Serrano attacked at the start of the steep final kilometre and edged his compatriot Juan Jose Lobato (Fundacion Euskadi) and Dylan Teuns by two seconds to take his first pro win.

Fuglsang was in a knot of riders four seconds behind the winner and leads Mikel Landa (Bahrain McLaren) by six seconds in the general classification. Teuns is third, 23 seconds back.

Friday’s third stage covers a mountainous the 177 km between Jaen and Ubeda.

Vuelta a Andalucia 2020 – stage 2 results (Sevilla – Iznajar):

1 Gonzalo Serrano (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


2 Juan Jose Lobato (Fundacion-Orbea)


3 Dylan Teuns (Bahrain McLaren)


4 Clement Venturini (AG2R la Mondiale)


5 Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


6 Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


7 Edward Planckaert (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)


8 Ion Izagirre (Astana)


9 Andrea Pasqualon (Circus-Wanty Gobert)


10 Marc Soler (Movistar)



Vuelta a Andalucia 2020 – general classification after stage 2:

1 Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


2 Mikel Landa (Bahrain McLaren)


3 Dylan Teuns (Bahrain McLaren)


4 Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


5 Ion Izagirre (Astana)


6 Pello Bilbao (Bahrain McLaren)


7 Chris Harper (Jumbo-Visma)


8 Harm Vanhoucke (Lotto Soudal)


9 Ruben Fernandez (Fundacion-Orbea)


10 David De la Cruz (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here