Dumoulin crushes opposition to win Giro d’Italia stage 10 time trial

Tom Dumoulin giro 2017

Tom Dumoulin cruised to victory in the 10th stage time trial of the Giro d’Italia to claim the maglia rosa from Nairo Quintana.

Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) was second at 49s, with former race leader Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors) in third at 56. Quintana could only finish 23rd, leaving him over two minutes adrift in the general classification.

Tom Dumoulin started the individual time trial today as one of the pre-race favourites. Dumoulin got off to a powerful start on his reaching the first intermediate checkpoint 18 seconds quicker than the fastest time set.

The Dutch time trial champion made every pedal stroke look easy as he continued to fly along the course, using every millimetre of the road as he went. Upon arrival at the second intermediate time-check, Dumoulin clocked in 36 seconds faster than his closest stage rival at 33 minutes and 24 seconds.

Dumoulin’s powerful time trial was a force to be reckoned with and after a furious sprint to the line, he finished the stage with a time of 50 minutes and 37 seconds, an impressive 49 seconds faster than his predecessor. The stage victory means that Dumoulin goes into the lead in the general classification with a lead of 2 minutes and 23 seconds.

After his victory Dumoulin said: “Before I started the stage I actually didn’t have a good feeling but now I see the result I realise that wasn’t the case. Today I didn’t give up, I fought with myself until the end and gave it all that I had. Its nice to go into the mountains with a good advantage but like the Vuelta showed me, you can loose everything in one day. We have some really tough stages coming up and it’s still a long way to go.”

Giro d’Italia 2017 – stage 10 results (Foligno – Montefalco):

1 Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) 50:37
2 Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


3 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


4 Luis León Sanchez (Astana)


5 Vasil Kiryienka (Team Sky)


6 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


7 Maxime Monfort (Lotto Soudal)


8 Jan Tratnik (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


9 Jos Van Emden (LottoNl-Jumbo)


10 Andrey Amador (Movistar)


11 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


12 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


13 Michael Hepburn (Orica-Scott)


14 Georg Preidler (Team Sunweb)


15 Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


16 Jan Bárta (Bora-hansgrohe)


17 Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


18 Ben Hermans (BMC)


19 Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


20 Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)



General classification after stage 10:

1 Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


2 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


3 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


4 Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


5 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


6 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


7 Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


8 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


9 Andrey Amador (Movistar)


10 Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


11 Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)


12 Tanel Kangert (Astana)


13 Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


14 Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


15 Dario Cataldo (Astana)


16 Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


17 Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


18 Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)


19 Maxime Monfort (Lotto Soudal)


20 Ben Hermans (BMC)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here