BMC victorious in Vuelta’s opening team time trial

BMC Racing

The BMC team won the opening stage of the Vuelta a Espana on Saturday, a team time trial in Nimes, France.

The 6-second victory over Quick-Step Floors put Rohan Dennis in the leader’s jersey. Team Sunweb finished third in the 13.7-kilometer stage. Team Sky stopped its clock 9 seconds slower than BMC in fourth, while Orica-Scott took fifth.

The 13.7 km track, which went mostly through winding, narrow city center streets and through a Roman amphitheatre, was almost half the length of the team time trial in last year’s Vuelta, where Sky pipped Movistar to victory by under a second.

UAE Team Emirates, LottoNL-Jumbo and Movistar all experienced crashes, although all riders were able to continue.

“It was a hard course,” said Rohan Dennis. “Technical at the start and you really had to figure out whether it was better to finish with nine or to drop a few. We tested everything. We tested strength, technique and speed.”

“It feels great. Obviously it’s a different feeling because I feel it’s an achievement but at the same time the whole team won and I’m the only one that gets to wear it. That’s the only downfall I think to me wearing the Red Jersey compared to the Yellow. I take all the credit while it was actually a team effort.”

Vuelta a Espana 2017 – stage 1 results (Nimes – Nimes TTT):

1BMC Racing Team


2Quick-Step Floors


3Team Sunweb


4Team Sky






7Lotto Soudal




9Bahrain Merida






12Aqua Blue Sport




14Dimension Data










19UAE Team Emirates


20Manzana Postobon



General classification after stage 1:

1Rohan Dennis (BMC)


2Daniel Oss (BMC)


3Nicolas Roche (BMC)


4Alessandro De Marchi (BMC)


5Damiano Caruso (BMC)


6Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


7Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors) +06”
8David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors) ,,
9Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


10Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors)


11Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step Floors) ,,
12Soren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


13Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


14Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


15Lennard Kamna (Team Sunweb)


16Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


17Salvatore Puccio (Team Sky)


18Chris Froome (Team Sky)


19Gianni Moscon (Team Sky)


20Wout Poels (Team Sky)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here