Battaglin surges to stage 5 victory in 2018 Giro d’Italia

Enrico Battaglin stage 5 giro d'italia 2018

Enrico Battaglin (LottoNL-Jumbo) surged ahead at the perfect moment to win the fifth stage of the Giro d’Italia on Wednesday as Chris Froome and most of the other favorites finished in the main pack.

Rohan Dennis (BMC) held onto the overall leader’s pink jersey with a 1-second lead over defending champion Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb), with Chris Froome (Team Sky) 55 seconds back in 19th place.

Giovanni Visconti (Bahrain-Merida) led coming around the final turn with 200 meters to go before Battaglin accelerated to take his third career Giro victory.

”The finish was a bit different to yesterday. Yesterday was really a powerful sprint on a really steep climb,” said Battaglin, who also won Giro stages in 2013 and 2014. ”Today was a steep climb but at two kilometers to go, and I had a little bit of time to rest and recover and do a really good sprint.”

Visconti crossed second and Jose Goncalves (Katusha-Alpecin) finished second, both with the same time as Battaglin.

The start of the stage was delayed for 15 minutes due to an accident on the racing route that left a motorcycle driver in serious condition.

”It was a nice day on the bike, on quite a slow pace because of the head wind,” said Rohan Dennis. ”I felt a bit of stress every now and then but I am glad to be in the Maglia Rosa. We’re only on day five, that means sixteen days to go. Tomorrow will be another story with the Etna. I’m looking forward to see how I’ll go up there.”

Stage 6 concludes with an arduous ascent up Mount Etna that should shake up the overall standings. Then the race heads over to mainland Italy and climbs up the peninsula to the defining legs in the Alps.

The only overall contender who struggled on Wednesday was Astana rider Miguel Angel Lopez, who misjudged a turn with six kilometers to go, rode straight off the road and fell into a patch of high grass. He finished 42 seconds behind.

Giro d’Italia 2018 – stage 5 results (Agrigento – Santa Ninfa):

1Enrico Battaglin (LottoNL-Jumbo)


2Giovanni Visconti (Bahrain-Merida)


3José Gonçalves (Katusha-Alpecin)


4Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors)


5Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


6Tim Wellens (Lotto Fix All)


7Francesco Gavazzi (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia)


8Maurits Lammertink (Katusha-Alpecin)


9Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)


10Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


11Pello Bilbao (Astana)


12Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


13George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo)


14Rohan Dennis (BMC)


15Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


16Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


17Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


18Alexandre Geniez (AG2R La Mondiale)


19Zdenek Stybar (Quick-Step Floors)


20Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)



General classification after stage 5:

1Rohan Dennis (BMC)


2Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


3Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


4Tim Wellens (Lotto Fix All)


5Pello Bilbao (Astana)


6Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors)


7Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)


8José Gonçalves (Katusha-Alpecin)


9Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)


10Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


11Carlos Betancur (Movistar)


12Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


13Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)


14Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


15Tanel Kangert (Astana)


16Georg Preidler (Groupama-FDJ)


17Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


18Michael Woods (EF Education First-Drapac)


19Chris Froome (Team Sky)


20George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here