Adam Yates holds off Alejandro Valverde on the Queen stage in Valencia

Adam Yates wins Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 2019 stage 4

Adam Yates outpaced world champion Alejandro Valverde to win the queen stage of the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana between Villareal and Alcossebre.

It was Team Dimension Data who controlled the breakaway for most of the day until other teams decided to join in with the workload, including Mitchelton-Scott, with around 40km to go to draw back the escapees ahead of the final climb.

At three kilometres from the finish line, two Movistar riders set a high pace to lose as many competitors as possible. Some metres later, Alejandro Valverde made a move and took with him first a group of the favourites and then the rest of the reduced pack followed.

Adam Yates bided his time until 1.5kilometres to go when he launched a move and forced more riders to drop off the testing pace.

Conquering 20% sections, Yates had enough left to continue to push on, leading the small surviving group before attacking again up the brutal stopes inside the final 500m, crossing the line ahead of the current world champion to claim his first win of the season.  Valverde was on his wheel in the closing moments, but did not have the power to catch him on the line.

Edvald Boasson Hagen loses the overall lead on general classification with Astana’s Ion Izagirre taking over yellow after stage four with Valverde seven seconds behind on GC in second place.

Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 2019 – stage 4 results (Vila-Real – Alcala-Alcocebre):

1Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


2Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


3Pello Bilbao (Astana)


4Ion Izagirre (Astana)


5Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


6Sergio Higuita (Euskadi)


7Jesus Herrada (Cofidis)


8Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida)


9Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


10Ben Hermans (Israel Cycling Academy)


Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 2019 – general classification after stage 4:

1Ion Izagirre (Astana)


2Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


3Pello Bilbao (Astana)


4Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


5Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida)


6Jesus Herrada (Cofidis)


7Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


8Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


9Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


10Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here