Wout Poels to co-lead Team Ineos at the Vuelta


Tao Geoghegan Hart will be a co-leader for Team Ineos at Vuelta a Espana alongside the experienced Wout Poels.

With Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas and Egan Bernal all bypassing the Vuelta for a variety of reasons, all eyes were on Ineos and who would make their eight-rider roster.

Ivan Sosa and Pavel Sivakov, recent winners at tours in Burgos and Poland, respectively, also miss the Spanish grand tour for Ineos.

Sports director Nicolas Portal said: “I believe we have really talented blend of youth and experience in this team. The opportunity for Tao to learn from Wout as they lead our team is a special one and we have faith that both of them can leave their mark on the Vuelta.”

The Vuelta is always a really tough race, but one that we always look forward to. We love racing in front of the Spanish fans and have had some fantastic success over the years. It promises to be a hard-fought edition this year with some very tough climbs as always and we are looking forward to the start on Saturday.”

Owain Doull will make his Grand Tour debut whilst Ian Stannard will appear in his 10th Grand Tour.

Team Ineos squad for the Vuelta: Tao Geoghegan Hart, Wout Poels, Owain Doull, Kenny Elissonde, Sebastian Henao, Vasil Kiryienka, Salvatore Puccio, Ian Stannard


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here