Winner Anacona secures overall victory at Vuelta a San Juan

Winner Anacona wins Vuelta a San Juan 2019

Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe) claimed the last stage of the Vuelta a San Juan coming from a long way back to beat Alvaro Hodeg (Deceuninck-QuickStep) and Erik Baska (Bora-hansgrohe) to the line.

Winner Anacona (Movistar) finished in the peloton to secure the overall victory, having taken the lead on the queen stage, Friday. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep) came second in the GC, while Oscar Sevilla (Medellin) took third.

“It was my first time here and it turned out to be a nice experience,” said Alaphilippe. “I am happy with my wins and the atmosphere the fans made this past week. It gives me great pleasure to start my season in this manner, with two victories and an overall podium. I don’t have regrets after this race, because I gave my best here together with the team.”

Alaphillippe’s 19-year-old Quick-Step teammate Remco Evenepoel won the young riders’ classification in what was his first WordTour race.

Vuelta a San Juan 2019 – stage 7 results (San Juan – San Juan):

1Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Alvaro Hodeg (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


3Erik Baska (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Manuel Belletti (Androni Giacattoli-Sidermec)


5Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Rudy Barbier (Israel Cycling Academy)


7Imerio Cima (Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane)


8Matteo Malucelli (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


9Ricardo Escuela (A.C.A Virgen de Fatima)


10Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates)



Vuelta a San Juan 2019 – final general classification:

1Winner Anacona (Movistar)


2Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


3Oscar Sevilla (Medellin)


4Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates)


5Felix Grossschartner (Bora-hansgrohe)


6Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


7Cesar Nicolas Paredes (Medellin)


8Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


9Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-QuickStep)


10Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here