Viviani takes Tour de Suisse stage 4, Thomas crashes out

Elia Viviani wins stage 3 Tirreno-Adriatico 2019

Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) has sprinted to victory in the fourth stage of the Tour de Suisse as Geraint Thomas crashed out of the race.

With around 32 kilometres to go, the defending Tour de France champ went down in an incident that also saw Astana’s Andrey Zeits hit the deck.

Thomas received medical attention while sitting in the road. He ultimately abandoned the race, as did Zeits, who was loaded into an ambulance on a stretcher.

Yves Lampaert and Michael Mørkøv led Viviani through the final kilometre. As the sprint opened, the Italian champion went down the left while Sagan had to go the long way around a decelerating Mørkøv.

In the end, Elia Viviani brought to an end weeks of frustration, topping Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) and Sagan.

“The guys did an amazing job, noted Viviani. “I’m pretty proud of my team and am happy with this win. It’s been a long time that I’ve not won.

“It’s my first win in the Tour de Suisse, I can be happy with that,” he added. “And it’s a few weeks now to my main goal of the season.”

Peter Sagan maintained his overall lead in the race, with Matthews moving up to second.

Tour de Suisse 2019 – stage 4 results (Murten – Arlesheim):

1Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


3Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


4Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)


5Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


6Sep Vanmarcke (EF Education First)


7Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Dimension Data)


8Ivan Garcia (Bahrain-Merida)


9Stan Dewulf (Lotto Soudal)


10Fabian Lienhard (Switzerland)



Tour de Suisse 2019 – general classification after stage 4:

1Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


2Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)


3Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


4Rohan Dennis (Bahrain-Merida)


5Lawson Craddock (EF Education First)


6Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ)


7Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)


8Patrick Konrad (Bora-hansgrohe)


9Jonathan Castroviejo (Team Ineos)


10Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here