Vincenzo Nibali takes his second win at Il Lombardia

Vincenzo Nibali il lombardia 2017

Vincenzo Nibali took advantage of his descending skills to win Il Lombadia for the second time in three years on Saturday.

Like in his 2015 victory in the single-day classic, Nibali established his lead coming off the Civiglio climb.

Nibali attacked just before the summit to catch then-leader Thibaut Pinot, then dropped the Frenchman on the narrow and twisty descent.

Nibali clocked more than six hours over the undulating 247-kilometer (153.5-mile) route from Bergamo to Como.

Julian Alaphilippe finished second, 28 seconds behind, and Gianni Moscon took a bunch sprint for third, 38 seconds back.


Il Lombardia 2017 results:

1 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


2 Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors)


3 Gianni Moscon (Team Sky)


4 Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)


5 Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R)


6 Fabio Aru (Astana)


7 Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


8 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


9 Sergei Chernetski (Astana)


10 Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here