Valverde takes first win in rainbow jersey in stage three of UAE Tour

Alejandro Valverde wins stage 3 UAE Tour 2019

World champion Alejandro Valverde earned his first win of the season in the third stage of the UAE Tour atop Jebel Hafeet.

Race leader Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) appeared to be the strongest rider on the climb, and surged away from the group midway up the climb alongside David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ) and Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates).

Valverde bided his time and struck at the precise moment to bridge to the three-man attack in the closing 2.5 kilometres toward the summit finish, a 10.1-kilometer ascent with an average gradient of 6.6 percent.

Roglic finished second to maintain ownership of the red leader’s jersey with a 14-second lead over Valverde with four stages remaining as the race moves to Dubai.

“I really wanted to get my first win of the year. It’s been difficult but I felt good and I had the advantage of knowing the climb very well so I could choose my pace,” Valverde said. “I knew I had to repeat the exact same tactics as last year. My priority was to win a stage. If I can add the GC, it’s great. If not, it doesn’t matter after what I achieved today with the help of my team.”

The UAE Tour continues on Wednesday with stage four, a 205km stage that finishes with a short and steep ascent to Hatta Dam.

You can rewatch Stage 3 from UAE Tour HERE.

UAE Tour 2019 – stage 3 results (UAE University – Jebel Hafeet):

1Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


2Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


3David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ)


4Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


6Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


7Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


8James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


9Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


10Jan Hirt (Astana)


UAE Tour 2019 – general classification after stage 3:

1Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


2Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


3David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ)


4Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


5Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


6Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates)


7Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb)


8Victor De La Parte (CCC)


9James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


10Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here