Valverde, Carapaz and Quintana lead Movistar in Vuelta


Movistar has announced its roster for the upcoming edition of the Vuelta a Espana, which will be the 40th time the formation starts in the Spanish grand tour.

Movistar are fielding a characteristically strong squad for their home Grand Tour, with a powerful cast of climbers, including world champion Alejandro Valverde, Giro d’Italia winner Richard Carapaz, Nairo Quintana and Marc Soler.

Carapaz, who stormed to a surprise victory in Italy earlier this year, will first have to establish himself as team leader with former winners Quintana and Valverde also named in the team.

But with Carapaz thought to be switching to Team Ineos next season and Quintana set to leave for Arkéa-Samsic, Valverde could be the real leader of the team just like last year.

La Vuelta, available to watch LIVE on Cycling Today, runs from August 24 to September 15.

Movistar Team for Vuelta a Espana: Alejandro Valverde, Nairo Quintana, Richard Carapaz, Marc Soler, Imanol Erviti, Nelson Oliveira, Jorge Arcas and Antonio Pedrero.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here