Tour de France: Which GC contenders lost time on stage 2


The second stage of the Tour de France ended with significant time differences for some of the general classification riders.

Tadej Pogacar took the yellow in Bologna, where Jonas Vingegaard, Remco Evenepoel and Richard Carapaz also did a good ride. On the other hand, Primoz Roglic was one of the losers.

Pogacar, Evenepoel, Vingegaard and Carapaz are in the same time after two days of racing. If you add the stage results of Pogacar together, you will get 18. That is lower than Evenepoel (20), Vingegaard (29) and Carapaz (32). The yellow may change in the coming days. For example, if Evenepoel finishes more than two places ahead of Pogacar on Monday, in the third stage, the Belgian will take over the leader’s jersey.

Differences between the GC riders after stage 2 of the Tour de France

1. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) in 9h53m30s
2. Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) same time
3. Jonas Vingegaard (Visma | Lease a Bike) s.t.
4. Richard Carapaz (EF Education-EasyPost) s.t.
7. Egan Bernal (INEOS Grenadiers) at 21s
8. Pello Bilbao (Bahrain Victorious) s.t.
11. Enric Mas (Movistar) s.t.
12. Aleksandr Vlasov (Red Bull – Bora) s.t.
13. Carlos Rodríguez (INEOS Grenadiers) s.t.
14. Matteo Jorgenson (Visma | Lease a Bike) s.t.
15. Jai Hindley (Red Bull – Bora) s.t.
17. Felix Gall (Decathlon AG2R) s.t.
18. Juan Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.
19. Primoz Roglic (Red Bull – Bora) s.t.
20. Simon Yates (Jayco AlUla) s.t.
21. Mikel Landa (Soudal Quick-Step) s.t.
22. Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.
23. Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.
26. Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain Victorious) at 1m11s
38. Louis Meintjes (Intermarche – Wanty) at 2m31s
42. Geraint Thomas (INEOS Grenadiers) at 4m24s


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here