Trentin edges out Rojas to win stage 10 of La Vuelta

Matteo Trentin vuelta stage 10

Matteo Trentin outsprinted Jose Joaquin Rojas to win stage 10 of the Vuelta as Chris Froome safely retained the race leader’s red jersey.

Trentin and Rojas burst clear as a 20-man breakaway group tackled the final climb of the 164.8km route between Caravaca Jubilar and Elpozo Alimentacion, holding onto their lead until the finish.

The Italian rider crested the summit of the Collado Bermejo in pole position before riding clear with Rojas on a succession of switchbacks before the finish.

“I was thinking of this stage for a while now and the plan was to get in the breakaway, knowing there was a solid chance it could stick”, said Trentin.

“I knew the last climb was a hard one, but I rode my own tempo and then, in the downhill, I just followed Rojas, aware he is a good descender and also that he knows the roads, being from Murcia. I am really happy with my second win here, our team is having a fantastic Vuelta a España and we hope to add other good results to our impressive tally in the next stages”, Matteo said at the finish, following Quick-Step Floors’ 14th Grand Tour victory of the year.

Froome held his general classification advantage of 36 seconds ahead of Esteban Chaves and BMC’s Nicolas Roche, the only mover in the top 10 after a late attack.

The descent conditions were tricky, with Cofidis rider Luis Angel Mate crashing, but Roche took advantage to skilfully move up the rankings, coming in 29 seconds ahead of the main field.

Vuelta a Espana 2017 – stage 10 results (Caravaca Jubilar – Elpozo Alimentacion):

1Matto Trentin (Quick-Step Floors)


2Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


3Jaime Roson (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)


4Jacques Janse van Rensburg (Dimension Data)


5Alexandre Geniez (AG2R)


6Marc Soler (Movistar)


7Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


8Alessandro De Marchi (BMC)


9Arnaud Courteille (FDJ)


10Rafael Reis (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)


11Bert-Jan Lindeman (LottoNl-Jumbo)


12Nicolas Roche (BMC)


13Jack Haig (Orica-Scott)


14Julien Bernard (Trek-Segafredo)


15Aldemar Reyes (Manzana Postobon)


16Gianni Moscon (Team Sky)


17Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


18Wout Poels (Team Sky)


19Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


20Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors)



General classification after stage 10:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott)


3Nicolas Roche (BMC)


4Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida)


5Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


6David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors)


7Fabio Aru (Astana)


8Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac)


9Adam Yates (Orica-Scott)


10Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


11Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


12Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


13Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


14Wout Poels (Team Sky)


15Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


16Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


17Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


18Igor Anton (Dimension Data)


19Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


20Jaime Roson (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here