Three in a row for Caleb Ewan at the Australia Criterium Championships

Caleb Ewan

Caleb Ewan has made it three in a row at the Australian Criterium Championships in Ballarat today, taking the victory in a bunch sprint to kick off the 2018 season in winning style.

The Mitchelton-SCOTT train bossed the front of the peloton in the final laps, streatching out the peloton as Luke Durbridge, Lucas Hamilton and Cameron Meyer each peeled off leaving Ewan with Alex Edmondson as his final lead out man up the final drag to the finish line.

Dropped off in perfect position, no one could pass the pint-sized speedster.

“There was a fair bit of pressure going into the race because I had to defend my title and also pressure on myself.  I wasn’t sure how I would feel in the race because usually I have had a few race days by now so I didn’t know exactly how I was going to feel and I always want to get my season off to a good start”, said Ewan.

“During the race I felt quite comfortable and the boys always had it in control so that’s takes some pressure off.”

“It never gets old, I’m super happy to take the win again and the feeling is just as good as the first time. It means a lot and it’s always nice to wear the national champions kit for your country and although I don’t get to wear it much during the year, it’s still nice to have it to your name.”

“It’s one of those things I always want to tick off the list at the start of the year to build my confidence going into some of the bigger races. I think it’s a good start and I’m feeling good so I feel good about going into the next few races.”

Australia Criterium Championships 2018 results:

1 Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott)


2 Steele von Hoff (Bennelong SwissWellness)


3 Brenton Jones (Delko Marseille Provence KTM)


4 Nicholas Yallouris (Brisbane Continental Cycling Team)


5 Jay McCarthy (Bora-hansgrohe)


6 Ryan Thomas (Brisbane Continental Cycling Team)


7 Theodore Yates (Drapac EF p/b Cannondale Holistic Development Team)


8 Anthony Giacoppo (Bennelong SwissWellness)


9 Zakkari Dempster (Israel-Cycling Academy)


10 Shannon Johnson



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here