Sivakov seals Tour of the Alps victory in breathtaking finale

Pavel Sivakov wins Tour of the Alps 2019

Pavel Sivakov (Team Sky) claimed his maiden stage race win in the Tour of the Alps as Fausto Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) took stage 5 win after threatening Sivakov’s GC lead.

The 21-year-old maintained the 27-second advantage he held over second-placed team-mate Tao Geoghegan Hart going into the fifth and final stage.

Sivakov became the first Russian to win the race and denied Vincenzo Nibali a third title.

“This victory is our victory not only me, we have been really consistent all week with Tao winning two stages and today we managed the race perfectly,” Sivakov said.

Fausto Masnada won the final day of racing, crossing the line seven seconds ahead of Carlos Quintero in constant drizzle leading into Bolzano.

Sivakov finished along with Geoghegan Hart and Nibali 2:14 behind Masnada.

Six-time Grand Tour winner Chris Froome ended his week in the mountains almost five minutes behind his youthful team-mate as he looks to step up his preparations for this year’s Tour de France which starts in Brussels on June 6.

It was Sky’s final multi-stage race before changing its name to Team Ineos after reclusive chemicals tycoon Jim Ratcliffe bought the outfit.

Tour of the Alps 2019 – stage 5 results (Caldaro – Bolzano):

1Fausto Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


2Carlos Quintero (Manzana Postobon)


3Simone Velasco (Neri Sottoli–Selle Italia–KTM)


4Dario Cataldo (Astana)


5Roland Thalmann (Vorarlberg Santic)


6Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R La Mondiale)


7Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


8Mattia Cattaneo (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


9Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Sky)


10Pavel Sivakov (Team Sky)



Tour of the Alps 2019 – final general classification:

1Pavel Sivakov (Team Sky)


2Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Sky)


3Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


4Mattia Cattaneo (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


5Fausto Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


6Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


7Jan Hirt (Astana)


8Dario Cataldo (Astana)


9Roland Thalmann (Vorarlberg Santic)


10Aleksandr Vlasov (Gazprom–Rusvelo)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here