Simon Yates takes Paris-Nice time trial, Kwiatkowski cements lead

Simon Yates wins stage 5 Paris Nice time trial

Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) won the fifth stage of Paris-Nice, a 25.5 kilometre time trial around Barbentane, near Avignon, on Thursday.

The time trial posted an enticing challenge. A mid-point climb of 1km at four per cent average was the most notable feature, making the course suited to the climbers. The course then ended with a short, sharp rise to the line.

Nils Politt of Katusha-Alpecin came closest, seven seconds back, with race leader Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) third fastest, 11 seconds behind. Egan Bernal finished sixth but jumped to second overall and trails his teammate by 19 seconds.

“It’s unexpected,” Yates said. “It’s my first ever victory in a time trial, even as a youth cyclist.”

“I have been working on my time trial quite a lot the last few years but I didn’t really expect to be fastest today. At the start of the day, I thought it was for the TT specialists. So especially with how this course was, I am very happy.”

Friday’s sixth stage runs 176.5km through hills just north of the Mediterranean coast between Peynier and Brignoles.

Paris-Nice 2019 – stage 5 results (Barbentane – Barbentane ITT):

1Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


2Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin)


3Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


4Tejay Van Garderen (EF Education First)


5Daniel Martinez (EF Education First)


6Egan Bernal (Team Sky)


7Lawson Craddock (EF Education First)


8Tom Scully (EF Education First)


9Marc Soler (Movistar)


10Luis León Sanchez (Astana)



Paris-Nice 2019 – general classification after stage 5:

1Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)


2Egan Bernal (Team Sky)


3Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


4Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)


5Bob Jungels (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


6Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


7Felix Großschartner (Bora-hansgrohe)


8Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott)


9Rudy Molard (Groupama-FDJ)


10Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here