Sam Bennett powers to stage 4 win in Burgos

After a teammate crashes with 1km to go and slowed nearly the entire front of the peloton, Sam Bennett (Deceuninck–Quick-Step) took the stage win with a long sprint at the Vuelta a Burgos.

Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ) came in second, five seconds behind, ahead of Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT).

“Coming into the final corner, I was up there. I had look a look around after the crash to see who was there, and everybody had sort of paused so I decided to go,” Bennett said.

“It was longer than I remembered and it was really hard, but I was really happy to take that win. I really needed it.”

Remco Evenepoel holds the general classification lead in the Spanish race.

Vuelta a Burgos 2020 – stage 4 results (Gumiel de Izán – Roa de Duero):

1 Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2 Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)


3 Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT)


4 Davide Cimolai (Israel Start-Up Nation)


5 Lionel Taminiaux (Bingoal WB)


6 Biniam Hailu (Nippo Delko Provence)


7 Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


8 Martin Laas (Bora-hansgrohe)


9 Alexander Edmondson (Mitchelton-Scott)


10 Rick Zabel (Israel Start-Up Nation)



Vuelta a Burgos 2020 – general classification after stage 4:

1 Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


2 George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)


3 Mikel Landa (Bahrain McLaren)


4 Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


5 João Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


6 Ben Hermans (Israel Start-Up Nation)


7 Richard Carapaz (Team Ineos)


8 Fabio Aru (UAE Team Emirates)


9 David De la Cruz (UAE Team Emirates)


10 Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here