Ryan Gibbons wins the Tour de Langkawi

Ryan Gibbons Tour de Langkawi

Ryan Gibbons (Dimension Data) won the 2017 Tour de Langkawi overallĀ as Travis McCabe (UnitedHealthcare) took the victory in the final stage.

The final stage of the Tour de Langkawi came down to a small peloton of just 40 riders sprinting for the stage win. The stage win went to Travis McCabe (United Healthcare), Anthony Giacoppo (IsoWhey Sports) was 2nd and Riccardo Stacchiotti (Nippo-Vini Fantini) placed 3rd.

Race leader Ryan Gibbons placed 4th in the final stage sprint finish which was enough to ensure the 22-year-old South African won both the yellow leaders jersey and teal sprinters jersey overall.

“I am incredibly happy to have won the Tour de Langkawi overall”, said Gibbons. “Being as ambitious as I am, I’m slightly disappointed to not have won today’s final stage. I was on the wheels of the Wilier riders through the final corner and those were just the wrong guys to be following today. But yes, I am really happy to win the yellow jersey, obviously it is the first of my career and I owe it to the amazing support of the team. The guys were incredible all week, motivated by riding for our Qhubeka cause, they gave everything for me to win this jersey. It is a special victory for me and I have really learnt a lot this week. I will take the experience I have gained here to Europe now, where I hope to win more. This is only the start for me and I’m not putting a ceiling in, to what I can achieve as a rider.

Tour de Langkawi 2017 – stage 8 results (Setiawangsa – Putrajaya):

1Travis McCabe (UnitedHealthCare)


2Anthony Giacoppo (Isowhey Sports Swisswellness)


3Riccardo Stacchiotti (Nippo – Vini Fantini)


4Ryan Gibbons (Dimension Data)


5Mohd Shahrul Mat Amin (Terengganu)


6Andrea Palini (Androni Giocattoli – Androni)


7Marco Maronese (Bardiani CSF)


8Enrico Barbin (Bardiani CSF)


9Filippo Pozzato (Wilier Triestina)


10Mekseb Debesay (Dimension Data)



Final general classification:

1Ryan Gibbons (Dimension Data)


2Cameron Bayly (Isowhey Sports Swisswellness)


3Alberto Cecchin (Wilier Triestina)


4Daniel Jaramillo (UnitedHealthCare)


5Mekseb Debesay (Dimension Data)


6Chris Harper (Isowhey Sports Swisswellness)


7Egan Bernal (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec)


8Ben O’Connor (Dimension Data)


9Timothy Roe (Isowhey Sports Swisswellness)


10Fernando Orjuela (Manzana Postobon)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here