Roglic wins Tour de France stage 17 as Froome retains overall lead

Primoz Roglic tour de france 2017 stage 17

Primoz Roglic (LottoNl-Jumbo) won the 17th stage of the Tour de France, a mountainous 183-km ride. The Slovenian launched an attack during the ascent of the Galibier and kept the lead until the end.

Chris Froome (Team Sky) covered his rivals’ attacks to retain the overall leader’s yellow jersey. Fabio Aru (Astana) lost 30 seconds and fell off the podium.

Roglic was part of an initial 33-man breakaway that was whittled down to just six riders when Roglic attacked solo 6.4km from the summit of the hors category Col du Galibier, which at more than 2,600 metres above sea level was the highest point of this year’s Tour.

He crested the climb, 28km from the finish in Serre-Chevalier, with a lead of just over a minute and half on a group of chasers including the top contenders.

On the descent, Roglic easily managed his lead while a five-man chase group developed, including Froome.

But Aru, who started the day second at 18sec, had been dropped by an acceleration from Bardet just before the Galibier summit and he was chasing desperately to limit his losses.

Uran took second, 1min 13sec behind Roglic, to snatch six bonus seconds that moved him up to second, on the same time as Bardet. Froome also took four bonus seconds for finishing third to help increase his lead.

Aru came 31sec later to drop to fourth at 53sec ahead of Thursday’s second straight Alpine stage with its brutal finish at the summit of the imposing Col d’Izoard.

Tour de France 2017 – stage 17 results (La Mure – Serre-Chevalier):

1Primoz Roglic (LottoNl-Jumbo)


2Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


3Christopher Froome (Team Sky)


4Romain Bardet (AG2R)


5Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


6Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


7Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


8Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


9Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


10Fabio Aru (Astana)


11Mathias Frank (AG2R)


12Darwin Atapuma (UAE Team Emirates)


13Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data)


14Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


15Daniel Navarro (Cofidis)


16Damiano Caruso (BMC)


17Ondrej Cink (Bahrain Merida)


18Amael Moinard (BMC)


19Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R)


20Brice Feillu (Fortuneo-Oscaro)



General classification after stage 17:

1Chris Froome (Team Sky)


2Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac)


3Romain Bardet (AG2R)


4Fabio Aru (Astana)


5Mikel Landa (Team Sky)


6Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors)


7Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)


8Louis Meintjes (UAE Team Emirates)


9Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo)


10Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb)


11Damiano Caruso (BMC)


12Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


13Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R)


14Mikel Nieve (Team Sky)


15Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


16Brice Feillu (Fortuneo-Oscaro)


17Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data)


18Daniel Navarro (Cofidis)


19Mathias Frank (AG2R)


20Primoz Roglic (LottoNl-Jumbo)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here