Roglic wins final stage to take overall victory in Tour de l’Ain


Primoz Roglic won his second consecutive stage to wrap up the Tour de l’Ain title and set his stall out ahead of the Tour de France.

Team Ineos took the lead of the pack during the first part of the Grand Colombier until it managed to reduced it considerably, but couldn’t get rid of many riders of Jumbo-Visma. Chris Froome turn in front finished with five kilometres to go, leaving Jumbo-Visma in control of the pace as only Egan Bernal remained for the British team.

With a bit more than two kilometres to go, Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo) attacked and Nairo Quintana (Arkea-Samsic), George Bennett, Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma), Bernal and Guillaume Martin (Cofidis) stayed at his wheel.

In the last kilometre, Bernal attacked and Roglic followed, but the Colombian couldn’t hold the pace for much longer and the Slovenian national champion took the victory of the stage and the race.

“Today was again a hard day. Ineos did a really hard race with a hard tempo on all the climbs, but our team did a great job again, so I was able to just finish it,” said Roglic.

“Every race is nice to do after this lockdown, so I’m also looking forward to another one. My main ambition for the Tour de France is to put myself on as high a level as possible, and to try to grow together with the team and do as good a job as we can. That’s the main goal.”

Tour de l’Ain 2020 – stage 3 results (Saint-Vulbas – Grand Colombier):

1Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


2Egan Bernal (Team Ineos)


3Nairo Quintana (Arkea-Samsic)


4Guillaume Martin (Cofidis)


5Richie Porte (Aus) Trek-Segafredo


6Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma)


7George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)


8Tom Dumoulin (Jumbo-Visma)


9Daniel Martin (Israel Start-Up Nation)


10João Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


Tour de l’Ain 2020 – final general classification:

1Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


2Egan Bernal (Team Ineos)


3Nairo Quintana (Arkea-Samsic)


4Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma)


5George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)


6Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


7João Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


8Guillaume Martin (Cofidis)


9Jesus Herrada (Cofidis)


10Fabio Aru (UAE Team Emirates)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here