Richard Carapaz conquers 2019 Giro d’Italia

Richard Carapaz became Ecuador’s first Grand Tour champion as he won the Giro d’Italia on Sunday, while Chad Haga was fastest on the final stage’s individual time trial.

The Movistar rider keeled over his handlebars with emotion inside the Arena di Verona after the 17-kilometer time trial. Carapaz has worn the leader’s pink jersey since winning the grueling 14th stage.

”This is the biggest moment of my sporting life,” Carapaz said. ”In this final time trial I just suffered from start to finish until I reached the arena of Verona. It’s fabulous to win the Giro d’Italia.”

The Ecuadorian finished the three-week race one minute, five seconds ahead of home favorite Vincenzo Nibali and 2:30 ahead of Primoz Roglic, who leapfrogged Mikel Landa into third spot.

”I don’t have any regrets, we all had a good Giro d’Italia, which was very hard-fought,” Nibali said. ”I had great rivals, Carapaz showed he is strong and that he deserved it … Carapaz didn’t steal anything, he was really strong.”

Both Carapaz and Nibali took their children onto the podium with them as they collected their trophies.

Carapaz’s parents had also flown over from Ecuador and revealed it was the first time they had been on a plane.

Haga had told his wife to stay at home.

”Maybe that was a mistake,” the Team Sunweb cyclist said as he smiled through tears of joy in a post-race interview. ”This is for everyone who believed in me and supported me and sacrificed for me. I gave everything today and to finally win … it’s very special.”

Haga had thought about quitting cycling after he and five other teammates were hospitalized after being hit by a car while they were training in Calpe, Spain. The incident happened in January 2016.

It was Haga’s first stage victory in a Grand Tour. He was four seconds faster than Victor Campenaerts and six faster than Thomas De Gendt.

Giro d’Italia 2019 – stage 21 results (Verona ITT):

1Chad Haga (Team Sunweb)


2Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Soudal)


3Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal)


4Damiano Caruso (Bahrain-Merida)


5Tobias Ludvigsson (Groupama-FDJ)


6Josef Cerny (CCC)


7Pello Bilbao (Astana)


8Mattia Cattaneo (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)


9Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


10Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


11Luke Durbridge (Mitchelton-Scott)


12Tom Bohli (UAE Team Emirates)


13Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


14Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


15Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


16Jos van Emden (Jumbo-Visma)


17Bob Jungels (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


18Jack Bauer (Mitchelton-Scott)


19Andrey Amador (Movistar)


20Pavel Sivakov (Team Ineos)



Giro d’Italia 2019 – final general classification:

1Richard Carapaz (Movistar)


2Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida)


3Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


4Mikel Landa (Movistar)


5Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


6Rafal Majka (Bora-hansgrohe)


7Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


8Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


9Pavel Sivakov (Team Ineos)


10Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin)


11Hugh Carthy (EF Education First)


12Joe Dombrowski (EF Education First)


13Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ)


14Davide Formolo (Bora-hansgrohe)


15Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates)


16Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo)


17Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott)


18Tanel Kangert (EF Education First)


19Domenico Pozzovivo (Bahrain-Merida)


20Fausto Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here