Movistar rounds off its two rosters for 2018

Alejandro Valverde Mikel Landa

The Movistar Team rounds off its two rosters for the 2018 season this week as Gloria Rodríguez joins as the 10th rider of its new women’s team while Dayer Quintana extends his contract with the men’s team.

The two groups has got together at this week’s traditional pre-season meeting in Pamplona, Spain, where the squad managed by Eusebio Unzué has started getting things ready for next season.

Rodríguez, a member of the Lointek team for the last two years, is a notable time trialist with national titles both on the road and on the track, including the 2016 Spanish championship in the individual pursuit.

A silver medalist at last year’s National champ time trial, the 25-year-old from Murcia has Spanish and Basque Cup race wins to her account, as well as an overall podium in the Volta a València.

In turn, Dayer Quintana will continue to ride alongside brother Nairo at the Spanish squad that has seen cover his entire pro career up to date.

A pure climber, the man from Cómbita in Boyacá has two victories in his UCI palmarès: the Queen stage of the Tour of Austria, in his debut season, and the overall classification of the Tour de San Luis in 2016.

Movistar men’s team for 2018: Andrey Amador, Winner Anacona, Jorge Arcas, Carlos Barbero, Daniele Bennati, Carlos Betancur, Nuno Bico, Richard Carapaz, Héctor Carretero, Jaime Castrillo, Victor De La Parte, Imanol Erviti, Rubén Fernández, Mikel Landa, Nelson Oliveira, Antonio Pedrero, Nairo Quintana, Dayer Quintana, José Joaquin Rojas, Jaime Roson, Eduardo Sepúlveda, Marc Soler, Jasha Sütterlin, Rafael Valls and Alejandro Valverde.

Movistar women’s team for 2018: Aude Biannic, Mavi Garcia, Alicia González, Małgorzata Jasinska, Lorena Llamas, Eider Merino, Rachel Neylan, Lourdes Oyarbide, Gloria Rodríguez, Alba Teruel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here