Marc Hirschi claims longest stage of the Tour after solo breakaway


Marc Hirschi won the longest stage of the 2020 Tour de France with a bold solo breakaway, becoming the first Swiss stage winner on the Tour since Fabian Cancellara in 2012.

The Sunweb rider powered away on the Suc au May climb, new to the Tour. He extended his lead by racing with hair-raising speed down the other side and held off pursuers over the last 25 kilometers to win stage 12 by a comfortable margin in Sarran. This marked his inaugural victory at his inaugural Tour.

“It’s unbelievable because I was close two times,” said Hirschi in a post-race interview. “I never believed that I could make it because I was really doubtful. I went full-gas until the last 200 metres, and this is super nice, I can’t describe it. It’s hard to put this into words.”

Pierre Rolland (B&B Hotels-Vital Concept) was second and Hirschi’s Sunweb team mate Soren Kragh Andersen took third place.

The Tour’s top contenders, including yellow-jersey wearer Primoz Roglic, were still some two minutes behind when Hirschi finished the 218-kilometerstage into the Massif Central.

Roglic kept the overall race lead, still 21 seconds ahead of Egan Bernal.

Tour de France 2020 – stage 12 results (Chauvigny – Sarran):

1Marc Hirschi (Team Sunweb)


2Pierre Rolland (B&B Hotels-Vital Concept)


3Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)


4Quentin Pacher (B&B Hotels-Vital Concept)


5Jesus Herrada (Cofidis)


6Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-hansgrohe)


7Hugo Houle (Astana)


8Sébastien Reichenbach (Groupama-FDJ)


9Kenny Elissonde (Trek-Segafredo)


10Nicolas Roche (Team Sunweb)


11Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)


12Marc Soler (Movistar)


13Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe)


14Greg Van Avermaet (CCC)


15Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


16Michael Gogl (NTT0


17Cyril Barthe (B&B Hotels-Vital Concept)


18Oliver Naesen (AG2R la Mondiale)


19Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma)


20Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


Tour de France 2020 – general classification after stage 12:

1Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)


2Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers)


3Guillaume Martin (Cofidis)


4Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale)


5Nairo Quintana (Arkea-Samsic)


6Rigoberto Uran (EF Pro Cycling)


7Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)


8Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)


9Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


10Mikel Landa (Bahrain McLaren)


11Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo)


12Enric Mas (Movistar)


13Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


14Tom Dumoulin (Jumbo-Visma)


15Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers)


16Damiano Caruso (Bahrain McLaren)


17Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


18Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott)


19Sergio Higuita (EF Pro Cycling)


20Pierre Rolland (B&B Hotels-Vital Concept)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here